Open Images
"Northern Lights from up North" by Mark Gunn. Uploaded on October 11, 2024. Taken on October 10, 2024
This image is from the All Free Pictures (Creative Commons and Public Domain) Flickr group. 
Search these sources for openly licenced and public domain images.
- Flickr
Largest photo sharing site. Be sure to use advanced search and select for Creative Commons licensed images.
- Google Advanced Image Search
Filter results by usage rights i.e. "free to use or share"
- Creative Commons Search
Search a variety of media.
- Wikimedia Commons
Freely usable media files (images, audio, video). Check the image summary for details on permitted use.
- Pexels
Free images available with a CC0 (public domain - available to use freely for any legal purpose)
- Pixabay
Free high-resolution stock photos with a CC0 (public domain) depicting a wide variety of subjects
- Unsplash
Free high-resolution stock photos with a CC0 (public domain) depicting a wide variety of subjects.
- Gender Spectrum Collection: Stock Photos Beyond the Binary
Stock photo library that features images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. Aims to provide better representation of members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives. All images released under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 licence.
- University of Kentucky Human Development Institute
Diverse collection of stock photos that highlight disability representation. All photos are CC0
- Indigenous Peoples in Education: A Stock Photo Collection
Collection of stock photos of Indigenous students to allow educators to represent Indigenous peoples in OER so that Indigenous students can see themselves reflected in their learning materials.
Open Videos
Search these resources to find openly licenced or public domain images.
- Al Jazeera
Select video is available for free to be downloaded, shared, and remixed.
- BCcampus Open Online Courses
Includes open course materials relevant to B.C. post-secondary course credits, with a focus on those with high enrolment and transferability in the B.C. post-secondary system.
- Critical Commons
Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts.
- Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
- Khan Academy
Find videos or short lectures on math, biology, chemistry, physics, humanities, finance and history.
- TED
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
- videolectures.net
An open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by scholars and scientists at events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
- Vimeo
Vimeo allows content creators to add a creative commons licence to their videos. These videos can be searched for using the advanced search filter.
- YouTube Education
YouTube allows content creators to add a creative commons licence to their videos.
Attribution
Based on library guide "Open Education Resources (OERs)" by TRU Libraries which is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0).
TRU Libraries guide is based on a work at http://open.bccampus.ca/bcoer-librarians/bcoer-guides/.