Health Care / Nursing Ebooks (Acquisitions Spring 2025)

Blood and Blood Components, Hematopoiesis, Selected Methods Used in Cytology, Histology and Hematology by Křížková, Věra et al

Blood Cells by Barbara J. Bain A comprehensive discussion of haematological morphology In the newly revised Sixth Edition of Blood Cells: A Practical Guide, expert haematologist Barbara J. Bain delivers a robust guide for use in the diagnostic hematology laboratory, covering methods of collection of blood specimens, blood film preparation and staining, the principles of manual and automated blood counts, and the assessment of the morphological features of blood cells. The book functions well as both a straightforward and practical bench manual and as a reference source for practicing hematologists. It has been completely updated to incorporate newly published information and 400 high-quality photographs to aid in blood cell identification. The text is comprehensive and fully supported by references. A companion website contains multiple-choice questions to aid the reader in retaining the information contained within. While the book provides additional guidance on further tests that should be performed for specific provisional diagnoses, the main focus of the text remains on microscopy and the automated full blood count. It also contains: A thorough introduction to blood sampling and blood film preparation and examination, as well as performance of blood counts Comprehensive exploration of the morphology of blood cells, detecting erroneous blood counts, and normal ranges Practical discussions of quantitative changes in blood cells and important supplementary tests In-depth examinations of disorders of red blood cells, white blood cells and platelets Review of the morphological features of blood parasites Perfect for practicing haematologists and haematology trainees, Blood Cells: A Practical Guide will also earn a place in the libraries of biomedical scientists working in laboratory settings. Many laboratories worldwide regard it as an essential bench book.

Fast Facts: Leukemia by Justin Loke; Ankit J. Kansagra Leukemia is a hematologic malignancy arising from hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs) in the bone marrow. Starting with a detailed description of hematopoiesis and what goes wrong in leukemia, this concise guide covers all aspects of the four most common subtypes of the disease. Although the incidence and prevalence of leukemia are rising worldwide, survival rates are also increasing. However, both the effects of the disease and the adverse effects of treatment remain complex challenges. Yet, as our understanding of the molecular landscape increases, therapeutic options are becoming more personalized. This revised and updated second edition of 'Fast Facts: Leukemia' addresses the causes and risk factors for each subtype of leukemia, the initial and confirmatory diagnostic tests, and the latest treatment options. Designed as a comprehensive primer for physician assistants, nurse practitioners, primary care providers, oncology nurses, hematology/ oncology trainees and pharmacists, this resource will help the non-specialist and those in training to identify leukemia early and provide a thorough understanding of the pathology and genetic basis of the disease, treatment options, and effective approaches to emergency and supportive care. Table of Contents: * Understanding blood and its components * What is leukemia? * Epidemiology, etiology and risk factors * Diagnosis * Staging and general management * Supportive care * Emergencies in leukemia

Fast Facts: Lymphoma by Graham P. Collins; Toby A. Eyre; Eliza Hawkes Lymphoma can be broadly defined as a cancer of mature lymphocytes. Our understanding of the biology of normal lymphocytes and lymphoma has grown at a tremendous pace, and this is now directly translating into changes in clinical practice. This became evident with the introduction of one of the first therapeutic monoclonal antibodies into cancer medicine, the CD20-directed antibody rituximab, which has led to significant benefit for patients with B-cell lymphomas. Since then, a raft of novel agents has entered clinical practice, including targeted small molecules, antibody-drug conjugates, bispecific antibodies, and chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cells. This new edition of 'Fast Facts: Lymphoma' has been updated to include recent changes in our understanding of lymphoma biology as well as improvements in diagnostics and therapeutics.

Phlebotomy Essentials by Ruth E. McCall Phlebotomy Essentials, Eighth Edition provides accurate, up-to-date, and practical information and instruction in phlebotomy procedures and techniques, along with a comprehensive background in phlebotomy theory and principles. It is appropriate for use as an instructional text or as a reference for those who wish to update skills or study for national certification. Enhanced with new images, a more efficient design, and new contributions from leading subject matter experts, this updated edition details how today's phlebotomists work in an approach optimized for how today's students learn. Combined with an optional Workbook, Exam Review book, and updated digital courseware, the latest edition of Phlebotomy Essentials represents a cornerstone of preparation for a successful career in phlebotomy.

Routine Blood Results Explained by Andrew Blann This book provides a comprehensive summary of all routine blood tests used in modern primary and secondary health care by explaining the rationale for, and value of, each individual blood test. It provides a valuable guide for health care providers in a time when multidisciplinary roles are being embraced. This book will allow health professionals to be fully affective in assessing the results of blood tests and explaining these results to patients.

Mosby's® Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana; Theresa Noel Pagana **Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Laboratory** Perform today's important lab tests safely and accurately! With test entries organized the way you'll use them, Mosby's® Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference makes it fast and easy to look up current testing information. Concise monographs are arranged alphabetically and include vital information such as the type of test, alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, contraindications, potential complications, interfering factors, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. From the experienced author team of Kathleen Deska Pagana, Timothy J. Pagana, and Theresa Noel Pagana, this bestselling handbook offers a compact size, durable cover, and A-to-Z thumb tabs for quick reference while on the job. Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs. Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Procedures provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure to ensure that each is performed accurately and safely, and to prevent having to repeat a test due to an error. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows, and are now alphabetized for fast reference. Possible critical values are highlighted to alert you to situations requiring immediate intervention. Icons for drug-related interfering factors alert you to the effects of pharmacologic agents on tests. Icons for patient teaching-related care indicate information that should be shared with patients and their families. Abbreviations for diagnostic and laboratory tests are provided inside the back cover, and appendices list blood tests used for disease and organ panels as well as symbols and units of measurement. Appendix with lists of tests by body system and by type allow you to quickly locate related studies. Inside front cover includes pages with easy-to-find information on common reference ranges for healthy adults, routine blood testing, and routine urine testing. Durable cover with rounded edges makes this manual ideal for use in the practice setting. NEW! Thirteen new monographs cover the latest tests and procedures; 11 outdated monographs are removed. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest research relating to accuracy of testing, diagnostic values of results, and patient care and education for each test.