Hstorical information
-
American National Biography Online Wonderful resource for biographies of Americans including nurses & doctors.
-
American Nursing Association Hall of FameList and brief information of inductees in the ANA Hall of Fame. Dates back to early 1800s through to current day
-
Moving Beyond Florence: Why We Need to Decolonize Nursing History A series of essays by writers who recognize that the terrible and unjustifiable inequalities that face nurses and their patients today are the result of a history of health care that has exploited, manipulated, and ignored minorities and people of color.
-
Canadian Encyclopedia - history of nursing and nurses Excellent resource for biographies of Canadian from all walks of life and every historical period.
-
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online A very good resource for biographies of Canadians from all walks of life and every historical period.
-
History of Nursing Digitization Project / Mount Saint Vincent University Archives The history of Nursing in Nova Scotia.
-
Oxford Dictionary of Biography Wonderful resource for biographies of the British people including nurses.
-
This is Public Health: a Canadian History / Christopher Rutty & Sue Sullivan Downloadable e-book
-
Wellcome Images Pictorial collection in the UK Wellcome Institute. Wonderful resource for illustrations in the history of nursing.
Florence Nightingale's contribution to EBP
A list of Biographies and Links to Important Nurses in History
-
Campbell, Ella
The discovery of the lost portrait of Mary Seacole
Mary Seacole , Creole Nurse and Healer - Helen Rappaport INT
Interurban Library RT 37 S43 R37 2022 (1884-1918), Canadian nurse and administrator, Newfoundland -
Cavell, Edith(1865–1915), British nurse and war heroine during World War I, 1914-1918.
-
Chesley, Annie(1857-1910), Canadian nursing superintendent and instructor, Ontario.
-
Dewar, Marion(1928-2008), Canadian public-health nurse, politician. Ontario
-
Forbes, Sarah(1860-1902), Canadian Military nurse, South African War
-
Johnstone, Isabel(1872-1923) Canadian nurse and hospital superintenden, Ontario
-
Mance, Jeanne(1606-1673), founder of Hotel-Dieu in Montreal, New France (Quebec).
-
Mussallem, Helen Kathleen(20th cent.), Canadian nurse and nursing educator
-
Parsons, Mona Louise(1901-1976), Canadian nurse, resistance fighter in World War II. Nova Scotia
-
Pope, Georgina Fane(1862-1938) military nurse in South African War and World War I.
-
Sanger, Margaret(1879-1966) American nurse and advocate for birth control. Her book, "My fight for birth control' pubished in 1931 was one of the most influencial books of the 20th century.
-
Watson, Helen Griffith Wylie(1911-1974), Canadian nurse and nurse administrator, Alberta.
-
Youville, Marie-Marguerite d'(1701-1771), French nun, founder of the Sisters of Charity of the Hôpital Général of Montréal, New France (Quebec)
Archives
-
Archives of OntarioLocated at York University, North York. The official archives for the Province of Ontario, it holds all government records for the Province of Ontario. A wonderful resource for primary research into all aspects of the history of nursing and health care in Ontario.
-
Canadian Archival Information Network - ArchivesCanada.caA database of holdings in archives across Canada.
-
National Archives of CanadaLocated in Ottawa, Ontario collects records in all aspects of the history of Canada.