MLTS: Medical Laboratory Technology Program

Statistics And Data Analysis Literacy For Nurses by James B. Schreiber (Editor); Melanie T. Turk (Editor) Takes the fear out of statistics through a combination of visual and practical learning! "Statistical acumen and confidence have evaded many nurses for multiple reasons requiring educators to find alternate ways to bridge this knowledge gap. [This book] fills a void and meets this need. Students and educators alike will benefit from its straightforward, pragmatic style in explaining applied statistical analysis. Drawing on the deep expertise of its authors, the book should become a go-to reference for anyone looking to gain knowledge in applied statistics." --Mary Ellen Smith Glasgow, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, ANEF, FAAN Dean and Professor Duquesne University School of Nursing The only biostatistics resource written specifically for MSN and DNP nursing students, this text provides a unique graphic representation of data to help students understand difficult analytic information. Modelled on an effective and proven method of learning--graphical illustrations first, technical details second--the text helps students understand appropriate research design, measurement, and analysis of how results are calculated. Providing a gentle progression into the complexities of statistics, it builds upon concepts step-by-step, helping students to reinforce prior knowledge before moving on the new information. Chapters initially focus on the practical application of content to illustrate how statistics are used, followed by working examples--addressing both research and evidence-based content and epidemiology and population health content--to enhance understanding and underscore the importance of the methodology. The book integrates the latest changes from the ASA related to statistical significance tested and addresses recent deliberations about sample size. Abundant Instructor Resources include PowerPoints, a test bank, data sets, information on how to obtain online programming classes, and sample lesson plans and activities. Key Features: Uses a proven, step-by-step method including a graphic representation of data followed by analytic content Follows graphical representation with examples of appropriate research design, measurement, and analysis of how results are calculated Includes a basic review checklist Provides chapter objectives, summaries, review questions, and key terms Offers data sets for those instructors/students who wish to do analyses Addresses SPSS and other software, including open source (JAMOVI, JASP, and R-Studio) Includes a comprehensive Instructor Resource Package to ensure faculty have the tools they need to work with students

Mosby's 2025 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for over 35 years! Mosby's 2025 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, High Alerts for drugs with the greatest risk, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. NEW! Drug monographs for more than 25 newly released, FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Several online-only drug monographs are added to the companion Evolve website, creating an overall total of more than 100 Evolve-only drug monographs for lesser-used medications. NEW! Combinations heading for selected monographs highlight common combinations. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, with both trade and generic names listed in the index. Bolded coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information is summarized in a table and includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. High Alert headers highlight drugs that pose the greatest risk if administered improperly. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting.

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski Nursing student must-have. "This is a must-have. Hands down the best book ever."--Jennifer S.   SAFETY FIRST WITH 'CURE & CARE'! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Nineteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. It's the #1 Drug Guide for patient safety.   BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks a one-year, FREE subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have information on more than 5,000 trade names and generic drugs at your fingertips, as well as audio pronunciations and color photographs, all updated regularly.   LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE AT A GLANCE In depth coverage of patient safety, including a red tab for high alert medications, red, bold, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects, a REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon, and more Special considerations for patient populations IV administration subheads Pharmacogenomic content Maple leaf icon for Canadian-specific content Patient and family teaching guidance   FREE ONLINE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Audio Library of 1,200+ drug names Tutorials with self-tests, Preventing Medication Errors and Psychotropic Drugs Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/KG and Fahrenheit/Celsius. Interactive Case Studies, each followed by a series of questions Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications  

Pharmacology Clear and Simple by Cynthia J. Watkins; F.A. Davis Company Save time and money with two books in one + online Q&A!   Half pharmacology, half dosage calculations --plus an intensive, yet clear & simple review of basic math and online quizzing! Here's the must-have knowledge and guidance you need to gain a solid understanding of pharmacology and the safe administration of medications in one text. A body systems approach to pharmacology with a basic math review and a focus on drug classifications prepare you to administer specific drugs in the clinical setting. Now with online Q&A practice in Davis Edge! Purchase a new, print copy of the text and receive a FREE, 3-year subscription to Davis Edge, the online Q&A program with 1,600 questions in all, 800 for Medical Assisting and 800 for Nursing. Davis Edge helps you to create quizzes in the content areas you choose to focus on, build simulated practice exams, and track your progress every step of the way. The Text New! Pronunciations for key terms at the beginning of each chapter New! Word-building and gerontological issues features New! New appendix on intravenous therapy Basic math review helps students learn to perform the calculations necessary to administer medications correctly. Medication administration presented through pharmacology basics, techniques and procedures, supplies, safety and regulations, and prescriptions and label "Master the Essentials" tables cover side effects, precautions, contraindications, and interactions for each classification. Drug classification review tables reinforce need-to-know information in each class. "Fast Tip" boxes offer quick facts and mnemonics. "A Closer Look" boxes examine important information in detail. "Check-up Questions" throughout each chapter promote understanding and help students retain and apply the information. Coverage of specific drugs provides context for learning drug classifications. Critical-thinking exercises encourage students to think beyond the chapter and apply their new knowledge to real-life scenarios. Review questions at the end of each chapter reinforce learning. Davis Edge Online Q&A FREE, 3-year access with purchase of new, print text 800 questions for Medical Assisting and 800 for Nursing "Quiz Builder" lets you select practice questions by exam section or topic area. Rationales for correct and incorrect responses provide immediate feedback. "Student Success Center" dashboard monitors your performance over time, helping to identify areas for additional study.

Pharmacology for Nurses by Blaine T. Smith Pharmacology for Nurses, Second Edition teaches undergraduate nursing students the basic concepts of pharmacology. The text focuses on critical need-to-know information and draws on the experience of contributing authors in the field of nursing. It takes a new approach to teaching the complex topic of pharmacology through its concise, digestible coverage of material, reader friendly design, and use of images and tables to reinforce content. This text is also intended as a reference for other nursing courses and as part of the nursing professional's permanent reference library.Pharmacology for Nurses, Second Edition has been written in a manner to reflect real-life clinical applications. The features coverage of the basics of pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics as explained in relation to clinical practice. Patient and drug variables as well as drug interactions and effects are also fully explored along with the administration of medications.New to the Second Edition: New case studies and discussion questions Best practices and nursing processes sections found in each chapter Expanded content on the endocrine system featuring coverage of diabetesRevised chapter on cardiovascular medications Updated chapter on the introduction to drug actionNavigate 2 Premier Access