Drugs and pharmacology
-
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
by
Perfect for this student nurse!"Seriously, I love this book. It has already helped me ace 2 assignments! Definitely a must-have for student nurses."--Amy L., Online Student Reviewer SAFETY FIRST WITH 'CURE & CARE'! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Eighteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. Its nursing-focused Cure & Care' approach explains what the drug does and describes what the nurse does and how the nursing process relates to the pharmacotherapeutics. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks your one-year, FREE 1-year subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, information on more than 5,000 trade names and generic drugs, as well as audio pronunciations and color photographs, all updated regularly. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE AT A GLANCE In-depth coverage of patient safety, red tab for high-alert medications, red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects, and REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Special considerations for patient populations Icon highlighting pharmacogenomic content IV administration coverage Patient and family teaching guidance Canadian-specific content identified with a maple leaf icon FREE ONLINE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING & PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Audio Pronunciation Library of 1,200+ drug names Tutorials with self-tests, Preventing Medication Errors and Psychotropic Drugs Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/KG and Fahrenheit/Celsius. Interactive Case Studies, each followed by a series of questions Eight audio podcasts covering must-know information, concepts, and considerations for safe drug administration Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
ISBN: 9781719646406Publication Date: 2022-05-18 -
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students
by
Find the information you need to administer drugs safely, accurately, and professionally! Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 15th Edition provides concise profiles of more than 4,000 generic and trade name drugs, including the drugs most recently approved by the FDA. Each drug monograph includes clear guidelines to dosing, administration, and the nursing process, so you'll always be sure that you're practicing medication safety. What sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, IV drugs, and the similarities and differences in common classes of drugs. From well-known pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this drug guide has been trusted by nursing students for more than 25 years! More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug students will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. High Alert headings indicate drugs that pose the great risk if administered improperly. Additional drug monographs on the Evolve websiteprovide information on the most recently approved drugs. Individual drug monographs include generic name, pronunciation, functional and chemical classification, do-not-confuse drug names, action, therapeutic outcome, uses, unlabeled uses, pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, adverse effects, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and lab test), nursing considerations, black box warnings, patient/family education, and treatment of overdose. Drug Categories sections promote the safe administration of common classes of drugs, explaining the similarities and differences among drugs in the same functional class including their common side effects and interactions. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Photo atlas of drug administration includes full-color illustrations showing physical landmarks and administration techniques used for IV and other drugs. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendixes. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Updated content covers the latest information on drug dosages, adverse effects, Black Box Warnings, nursing considerations, patient education, drug research, and more.
ISBN: 9780443105937Publication Date: 2022-06-17 -
Pharmacology for Nurses
by
Pharmacology for Nurses, Second Edition teaches undergraduate nursing students the basic concepts of pharmacology. The text focuses on critical need-to-know information and draws on the experience of contributing authors in the field of nursing. It takes a new approach to teaching the complex topic of pharmacology through its concise, digestible coverage of material, reader friendly design, and use of images and tables to reinforce content. This text is also intended as a reference for other nursing courses and as part of the nursing professional's permanent reference library.Pharmacology for Nurses, Second Edition has been written in a manner to reflect real-life clinical applications. The features coverage of the basics of pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics as explained in relation to clinical practice. Patient and drug variables as well as drug interactions and effects are also fully explored along with the administration of medications.New to the Second Edition: New case studies and discussion questions Best practices and nursing processes sections found in each chapter Expanded content on the endocrine system featuring coverage of diabetesRevised chapter on cardiovascular medications Updated chapter on the introduction to drug actionNavigate 2 Premier Access
ISBN: 9781284141986Publication Date: 2018-12-14
-
Health Source - Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
-
Mayo ClinicLook up prescription and over-the-counter drug information
-
Medline Plus - Drugs and SupplementsLook up prescription and over-the-counter drug information
Diseases & Conditions
BC Ministry of Health
Clinical practice guidelines and protocols in British Columbia (for health professionals)
BC Centre for Disease Control
Diseases & conditions A - Z
FamilyDoctor.org
Diseases and conditions
Health Canada
Diseases and conditions
HealthLinkBC
Diseases and conditions
Mayo Clinic
Diseases and conditions Tests and procedures
MedlinePlus (US National Library of Medicine)
Health topics
Public Health Agency of Canada
Chronic disease Infectious disease
Self-Management British Columbia Community Resources
A full list of disease-specific organizations and associations
US Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
US National Institutes of Health
Health information