Simple Search at CNC
Sample searches
-
EchocardiographySearch results in Single Search
Information
To help you browse the Library shelves, try the following areas:
| RC 78.7 |
Diagnostic imaging
|
How call numbers work All print or paper copies of books in the library are assigned a call number, usually found on the book spine. The call number represents what the book is about and acts like the book's address on the library's shelves. Because books on the shelves are arranged in call number order, you will find books on similar subjects shelved near each other. At the Camosun Library, we use the Library of Congress (LC) classification system. LC call numbers are made up of letters and numbers and look something like this: QM 8923 W6 L36 2014 c.3 Read the call number from left to right. The first part of a call number, QM 8923, consists of a combination of one or two letters and a number that indicates a specific subject area. The next part, W6 L36, identifies a specific title within the range of books on that topic, 2014 is the publication date, and c.3 indicates it is the third copy in the library. |
| RC 683.5 |
Diagnostic methods
|
|
| RC 691.6 |
Sonography
|
|
| QM 25 | Anatomy |
You can order books and articles not held at the College of New Caledonia Library through our free interlibrary loan service.
Articles usually arrive between 5-7 days. Visit our Request and Inter-Library Loan Page for more information.
Featured resources
-
Sonography Principles and Instruments
by
Enhance your imaging skills with the latest sonographic technologies and prepare for the ARDMS SPI certification exam! Sonography: Principles and Instruments, 10th Edition explains how diagnostic ultrasound works and covers the essentials of ultrasound physics and instrumentation, including Doppler imaging, artifacts, safety, and quality assurance. More than 1,300 illustrations include ultrasound scans, helping to demonstrate imaging anatomy, motion, and flow. In simplifying complicated concepts, Dr. Kremkau succeeds where other texts do not. With the right blend of imaging fundamentals, current techniques, and exam practice questions, this book is ideal for both students and experienced practitioners. Emphasis on the fundamentals of physics and sonography prepares you for the ARDMS SPI (Sonography Principles & Instrumentation) certification exam. Coverage of current technology includes the progress made with contrast agents and 3D, along with the more general aspects of transducers and instruments. Straightforward explanations simplify complicated concepts. Over 120 ultrasound scans with a full-color design represent what you will encounter in the clinical setting. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter give you a measurable outcome to achieve. Key terms are listed at the beginning of each chapter and bolded in the text for fast and convenient lookup. Key Points are marked with an icon and special type, highlighting the most important information to help you study more efficiently. Bulleted review at the end of each chapter identifies key concepts. End-of-chapter exercises test your knowledge and understanding with a blend of multiple-choice, matching, and true/false questions. Glossary at the end of the book serves as a quick reference to key terms, letting you look up definitions without having to search through each chapter. Appendices offer convenient access to a list of symbols and equations, plus a mathematics review. Student resources on the Evolve companion website enhance learning with videos, a physics review, an image collection, and advanced concepts.
Call Number: RC 78.7 .U4 K745 2021ISBN: 9780323597081Publication Date: 2019-12-30
-
ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023. Drop the ECG anxiety and learn to interpret rhythm strips in simple, stress-free ways, with the popular ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy!®, 7th Edition.Offering expert direction, this freshly updated, fully illustrated guide is packed with images and learning aids that support your understanding and retention in obtaining and interpreting rhythm strips. Recognize and treat a wide variety of arrhythmias with this vital text -- an ideal study aid and friendly on-the-unit support for both students and practicing nurses. Get skilled and confident in rhythm strip interpretation and treating arrythmias: NEW and updated content in a quick-read, bulleted format that makes it easy to spot important points at a glance Dozens of colorful diagrams and illustrations that outline core terms and concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions of key terms Colorful illustrations that demonstrate key concepts Sidebars that highlight key facts about ECG interpretation Expert guidance on obtaining and interpreting 12-lead ECGs and ACLS algorithms ECG basics - the fundamentals of cardiac anatomy and physiology, and of obtaining and interpreting a rhythm strip Expert direction on how to recognize arrhythmias - sinus node, atrial, junctional arrhythmias, ventricular arrhythmias, and atrioventricular blocks Seasoned nursing insight on treating arrhythmias - pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic treatments Chapter features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of content at the start of each chapter "Nurse Joy and Jake" - offer expert insights, important care reminders and reassurance throughout Now I get it! - illustrations and flowcharts that explain difficult concepts Don't skip this strip - identifies the arrhythmias that have the most serious consequences Ages and stages - age-related changes and how they affect a patient's health Mixed signals - insights on solving common problems in ECG monitoring and interpretation Memory joggers - memory aids to help you grasp and remember difficult concepts I can't waste time - key points you need to know for conditions that require quick identification and treatment That's a wrap - quick end-of-chapter review of chapter content Quick quiz - end-of-chapter, multiple-choice questions that help you retain knowledge About the Clinical Editor Jessica Coviello, DNP, APRN, ANP-BC, is Associate Professor and Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program at Yale University School of Nursing in West Haven, Connecticut.
ISBN: 9781975148263Publication Date: 2020-06-10 -
Clark's Essential Guide to Clinical Ultrasound
by
This easy-to-understand pocketbook in the highly respected Clark's stable of diagnostic imaging texts is an invaluable tool for students, sonographers and other ultrasound practitioners, providing practical guidance on clinical ultrasound procedures, summarising current relevant literature and professional body guidelines. The content is arranged by anatomical system and organ for ease of reference, with each section comprising a short introduction, the indications for the procedure, patient preparation, the imaging procedure itself, along with an image analysis, supported throughout by positioning photographs and clinical images. Clark's Essential Guide to Clinical Ultrasound is ideal for all users of clinical ultrasound at both undergraduate and postgraduate level and will also provide a convenient distillation of the latest best practice and guidelines for sonographers, midwives, vascular technologists, ECG technologists, medical doctors, sports injury specialists, paramedics, and other health professionals.
ISBN: 9780367771164Publication Date: 2023-01-24 -
Practical Ultrasonography in Obstetrics and Gynecology
by
With rapid development of ultrasound technology, its clinical application is expanding and deepening. This book is focused on practical application of ultrasound in obstetrics and gynecology. Besides ultrasound diagnosis, the new progress of ultrasound in obstetrics and gynecology, such as interventional ultrasound, 3D ultrasound, and endoscopic ultrasonography, is also discussed. Typical images selected from abundant cases are provided with concise and refining key points. It serves as a valuable reference for sonologists, radiologists and gynaecologists for accurate diagnosis.
ISBN: 9789811644764Publication Date: 2022-02-04 -
Donald School 3D-4D Ultrasound in Gynecology
by
Zorancho Petanovski MD PhD Asim Kurjak MD PhD
ISBN: 9789354650048Publication Date: 2021-11-30 -
Practical Guide to 3D-4D Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology
by
3D ultrasound shows a still image of a foetus, far more detailed than the 2D flat grey scale imaging. 4D ultrasound is more advanced, showing a moving image, allowing obstetricians to evaluate foetal well-being. It is also used by gynaecologists to examine uterine anomalies. This book is a practical guide to the use of 3D and 4D ultrasound in obstetrics and gynaecology. Divided into three sections, the text begins with an introduction to ultrasound, its working and application, its function, software, and volume calculation tools. Section Two covers clinical applications of volume ultrasound in obstetrics, explaining its use during the first trimester, for foetal abnormalities, for functional assessment of foetal brain development, and in labour. The final section discusses the application of ultrasound in gynaecology, covering uterine abnormalities, adnexal lesions, and in infertility. The book concludes with an appendix detailing different terms used by different brands. Key points Practical guide to use of 3D and 4D ultrasound in obstetrics and gynaecology Provides detailed explanation of ultrasound working, function and software Covers different uses of ultrasound for foetal monitoring, gynaecological disorders, and infertility Highly illustrated with detailed ultrasound images
ISBN: 9789390595341Publication Date: 2021-03-31 -
The Ultimate Guide to Point-Of-Care Ultrasound-Guided Procedures
by
This comprehensive book provides an in-depth examination of a broad range of procedures that benefit from ultrasound guidance in the point-of-care setting. It covers common procedures such as ultrasound-guided central and peripheral venous access to regional nerve blocks, temporary pacemaker placement, joint aspirations, percutaneous drainage, a variety of injections and airway management. Chapters examine a variety of topics critical to successful ultrasound procedures, including relevant sonoantomy, necessary equipment, proper preparation, potential complications, existing evidence and how to integrate these procedures into clinical practice. For each procedure, the book includes step-by-step instructions and discusses the advantages of ultrasound guidance over traditional techniques. Providing rich procedural detail to help in clinical decision making, The Ultimate Guide to Point-of-Care Ultrasound-Guided Procedures is an indispensable, go-to reference for all health care providers who work in a variety of clinical settings including primary care, emergency department, urgent care, intensive care units, pediatrics, pre-hospital settings and those who practice in the growing number of new ultrasound programs in these specialties.
ISBN: 9783030282653Publication Date: 2019-12-12 -
Diagnostic Ultrasound Third Edition
by
This popular text provides a comprehensive, yet accessible, introduction to the physics and technology of medical ultrasound, with high quality ultrasound images and diagrams throughout. Covering all aspects of the field at a level that meetings the requirements of accredited sonography courses, it is ideal for both trainee and qualified healthcare professionals practising ultrasound in a clinical setting. Building on the content of previous editions, this third edition provides the latest guidance relating to ultrasound technology, quality assurance and safety and discusses the latest techniques.
ISBN: 9780367190415Publication Date: 2019-05-17 -
Essentials of Abdomino-Pelvic Sonography
by
Sonography has emerged as a substantial diagnostic tool today. This handbook aims to cover ultrasound physics, abdominal and obstetric sonography, color Doppler, high resolution sonography and USG guided interventions with multiple choice questions and case reports for practical orientation.
ISBN: 9781138501829Publication Date: 2018-01-31 -
The Physics and Technology of Diagnostic Ultrasound
by
A companion to the popular textbook'The Physics and Technology of Diagnostic Ultrasound: A Practitioner's Guide'. Contains over 120 short questions and provides model answers for each. Students will find it valuable as a learning aid and as a resource to test their knowledge and understanding. Teachers, supervisors and tutors will find it a useful teaching asset and an excellent starting point for writing quiz and exam questions.
ISBN: 9780987292155Publication Date: 2016-10-01
-
Essential Clinical Anatomy
by
Essential Clinical Anatomy, Fifth Edition presents core anatomical concepts in a concise, student-friendly format. The text includes the hallmark blue Clinical Boxes, as well as surface anatomy and medical imaging features. It is an ideal text for shorter medical courses and health professions courses with a condensed coverage of anatomy. Essential Clinical Anatomy , like the authors' more comprehensive text, Clinically Oriented Anatomy , receives global acclaim for the relevance of its clinical correlations. The book emphasizes anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The 5th Edition features:" A NEW AND IMPROVED ART PROGRAM: Illustrations have been redrawn in a modern, updated style that enhances student understanding of key concepts CLINICAL BOXES: Renowned "blue boxes" highlight information on pathology, anatomical variation, trauma, the life cycle, surgical procedures, and diagnostic procedures SURFACE ANATOMY AND MEDICAL IMAGING: Chapters include surface anatomy and imaging sections to enhance clinical and diagnostic knowledge INTERACTIVE REVIEW QUESTIONS : Prepare for board and class exams with online review questions at thePoint.lww.com
Call Number: QM 23.2 .M673 2015ISBN: 9781451187496Publication Date: 2014-03-01 -
The Nature of Disease: Pathology for the Health Professions
by
Easy to understand and fun to read, this engaging primer on the etiology and pathogenesis of human disease will help you develop a basic understanding of pathology that will set you on the path to a successful career in the health professions. Punctuated by humor, unique case studies that link pathology to real-world clinical applications, and absorbing tales from the history of medicine, this engaging book focuses on the patient as it guides you through the causes and consequences of common diseases.
Call Number: RB 113 .M34 2014ISBN: 9781609133696Publication Date: 2013-10-30 -
A Field Guide to Bedside Ultrasound
by
Over recent years, the miniaturization and falling cost of medical ultrasound technology have led to widespread interest from clinicians looking to improve their bedside diagnostic skills and augment their clinical decision-making. Education in its use, however, has lagged behind the improvements in technology, leaving a "skills gap" which prevents its wider adoption. This book is designed to aid beginners in their use of ultrasound technology, to help them overcome the early learning hurdles and build their experience. The book is written in simple language and offers the raw basic essentials for those starting out, as well as some useful practical tips for speeding up learning. The book takes the reader on a "learning journey" starting with basic technique, slowly building in complexity and finishing with more advanced techniques to match the learner's increasing mastery of this valuable diagnostic tool....
Call Number: RC 78.7 .U4 C44 2016ISBN: 9781460291603Publication Date: 2016-10-11 -
Adult Echocardiography Review byPublication Date: 2018
-
Diagnostic Ultrasound, 2-Volume Set
by
Now fully updated with more than 2,000 new images, 200 new videos, and new content throughout, Diagnostic Ultrasound, 5th Edition, by Drs. Carol M. Rumack and Deborah Levine, remains the most comprehensive and authoritative ultrasound resource available. Spanning a wide range of medical specialties and practice settings, it provides complete, detailed information on the latest techniques for ultrasound imaging of the whole body; image-guided procedures; fetal, obstetric, and pediatric imaging; and much more. Up-to-date guidance from experts in the field keep you abreast of expanding applications of this versatile imaging modality and help you understand the "how" and "why" of ultrasound use and interpretation. Covers all aspects of diagnostic ultrasound with sections for Physics; Abdominal, Pelvic, Small Parts, Vascular, Obstetric, and Pediatric Sonography. Uses a straightforward writing style and extensive image panels with correlative findings. Features 5,000 images - more than 2,000 brand-new - including new 2D and 3D imaging as well as the use of contrast agents and elastography. Includes a new virtual chapter on artifacts with individually labelled images from throughout the book, displaying artifacts with descriptive legends by category and how they can be used in diagnosis or corrected for better quality imaging. Features more images and new uses for contrast agents in the liver, breast, and in pediatric applications. Includes current information on imaging more diagnostic dilemmas, such as Zika virus in the fetus and newborn. Includes 400 video clips showing real-time scanning of anatomy and pathology. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC 78.7 .U4 D514 2018 V.1ISBN: 9780323401715Publication Date: 2017-09-20 -
Ultrasound Physics and Instrumentation, 5e
by
In Ultrasound Physics Instrumentation, 5e, Frank Miele's unique three-level approach makes ultrasound physics interesting and applicable to day-to-day scanning. Level: Ultrasound Physics focuses on the underlying physics and basic concepts critical for developing skill in the use of diagnostic ultrasound. Level 2: Exam Level Ultrsound Physics covers basic topics often outlined on the credentialing exams. This section is intended to generate a more profound understanding of the concepts, emphasizing the relationship between the fundamentals of physics and the quality of a diagnostic study. Level 3: Advanced Ultrasound concepts and applications contain advanced topics and higher level material for those readers who want to be challenged.
Call Number: RC 78.7 .U4 M54 2013ISBN: 9780988582507Publication Date: 2013-08-15 -
Introduction to Sonography and Patient Care
by
Introduction to Sonography and Patient Care offers today's students the training and real-world imaging experience they need to master sonography content and competencies, sets the stage for students to excel on certification exams and succeed in their professional careers . This engaging, reader-friendly book provides a powerful bridge to practice, focusing throughout on giving students a first-hand look at how they will apply their training in a clinical setting. Mirroring JRC-DMS standards in every chapter, the book provides a full overview of need-to-know content delivered at a level appropriate for future sonographers. The text includes topics often omitted in other texts, such as basic physics principles, instrumentation, knobology, patient positioning, professionalism and work ethic, equipment care, quality assurance, and legal essentials.
Call Number: RC 78.7 .U4 P46 2016ISBN: 9781451192599Publication Date: 2015-10-31 -
Sonography Scanning
by
Presents a visual, step-by-step method for scanning and image documentation to provide diagnostic sonograms for physicians. Scanning principles and specific instructions are provided to improve the quality of sonographic studies and establish standardization. The text includes criteria for professionalism and clinical skills, plus requisites for handling ultrasound equipment, image labeling, image technique, and case presentation. A universal method for scanning and documenting pathologies is provided. The protocol chapters provide detailed scanning protocols for the major blood vessels and organs of the abdomen, the male and female pelvic regions and obstetrics. Protocols for the abdomen, scrotum, thyroid gland, breast, neonatal brain, vascular and cardiac systems are also included. Scanning principles and step-by-step instructions on how to scan and document images help users establish standardization and image documentation for physician diagnostic interpretation. Scanning protocols that follow AIUM guidelines provides the essential information on patient prep, transducers, breathing techniques, comprehensive surveys, and required images. The location of specific vessels or organs, anatomy and physiology, sonographic appearance, and normal variations are also included. Sonographic ergonomics and proper use of equipment help sonographers avoid occupational injuries. Scanning protocol for pathology provides the criteria for evaluating and documenting abnormal sonographic findings, describing those findings within legal parameters, and relating those findings to the interpreting physician. Review questions at the end of each chapter give users the ability to self-review. NEW! Transducer location drawings included on images helps users understand exactly where on the body they should scan to produce a particular image. NEW! Musculoskeletal chapter provides musculoskeletal coverage for those sonographers interested in this specialty. NEW! Two-color streamlined design enhances readability and allows for more images on the page. NEW! 300 new images demonstrate superior quality images from the latest state-of-the-art ultrasound equipment. NEW! Pedagogy including key terms and objectives is included at the beginning of each chapter to specify chapter expectations and focus study.
Call Number: RC 78.7 .U4 T46 2015ISBN: 9781455773213Publication Date: 2014-12-01 -
Pathophysiology of Heart Disease
by
Specifically designed to prepare medical students for their initial encounters with patients with heart disease, this award-winning text bridges basic cardiac physiology with clinical care. Written by internationally recognized Harvard Medical School faculty and select medical students, Pathophysiology of Heart Disease, Sixth Edition provides a solid foundation of knowledge regarding diseases of the heart and circulation. Under the experienced editorial guidance of Dr. Leonard S. Lilly, this best-selling monograph has an outstanding reputation among medical students and faculty worldwide. Student-friendly features of the Sixth Edition include a new, full-color design and illustrations; end-of-chapter summaries; updated content, including recent technological advances; and access to an interactive eBook. New full-color presentation makes the text more visually appealing. Up-to-date medical imaging and color clinical photographs show real-world examples of cardiovascular diseases and related conditions. Updated Chapter Summaries reflect consistency in length and format, making study easier. Updated Additional Reading references keep readers abreast of the latest literature in the field. Winner of two awards of excellence from the American Medical Writers Association, and recommended by medical schools worldwide. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone or accessed online to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation A highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick-reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Call Number: RC 682.9 .P255 2016ISBN: 9781451192759Publication Date: 2015-09-18 -
A Sonographer's Guide to the Assessment of Heart Disease
by
Written by a sonographer for sonographers, this text primarily discusses the role of echocardiography in the assessment of heart diseases. The book is mostly designed for students of echocardiography, teachers of echocardiography and cardiac sonographers working in routine clinical practice, but will also be very useful to echocardiologists and cardiac registrars. The goal of the text is to provide a comprehensive review of transthoracic echocardiography in the assessment of various cardiac pathologies. Refresher notes on cardiac anatomy and the relevant cardiac physiology and pathophysiology are included to expand the cardiac sonographer's knowledge in this area and further their understanding of various diseases, disease processes and associated findings. This comprehensive text is supported by over 720 figures including over 1,200 echo images, over 130 pathological photos and many illustrations. It also includes several appendices, numerous tables and technical tips which highlight key concepts. Hard-cover bound with 507 printed pages, this text is ready to be adopted as any sonographer's constant companion while dealing with the many challenges that arise in performing an echocardiographic examination.
Call Number: RC 683.5 .U5 A53 2016ISBN: 9780992322205Publication Date: 2014-01-02 -
Abdomen and Superficial Structures
by
Kawamura's Nolan Diagnostic Medical Sonography:Abdomen and Superficial Structures,4th Edition provides an up-to-date, comprehensive, and consistent treatment of abdominal sonography. And is an integral part of the updated Diagnostic Medical Sonography Series , which includes new editions of Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Abdomen and Superficial Structures, Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Diagnostic Medical Sonography: The Vascular System, provides the right content at the right level for the right way to teach and learn. eBook available for separate purchase. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. New and updated images throughout each text help bring the visual field of sonography to life. Up-to-date coverage of diagnostic criteria in every text reflects today's best practices. Pathology boxes with tables of relevant pathologies are ideal for quick reference or review. Critical Thinking Questions in every chapter help students apply their knowledge to clinical situations and develop the analytical skills they'll need for a career in sonography. A complete Glossary defines important terminology to help students master the vocabulary of the profession. Updated references reflect the latest research in the field. A hands-on workbook (available separately for each series title) provides a variety of custom-designed exercises to help students master each objective and get the most out of their study time.
Call Number: RC 78.7 .U4 D48 2018ISBN: 9781496354921Publication Date: 2017-11-18 -
Obstetrics and Gynecology
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The updated 4th Edition of Stephenson's Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Obstetrics and Gynecology offers the most in-depth, current, and consistent coverage of this crucial sonography topic available today. And is an intregal part of the Diagnostic Medical Sonography Series , which includes new editions of Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Abdomen and Superficial Structures, Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Diagnostic Medical Sonography: The Vascular System, provides the right content at the right level for the right way to teach and learn. New and updated images throughout each text help bring the visual field of sonography to life. Up-to-date coverage of diagnostic criteria in every text reflects today's best practices. Pathology boxes with tables of relevant pathologies are ideal for quick reference or review. Critical Thinking Questions in every chapter help students apply their knowledge to clinical situations and develop the analytical skills they'll need for a career in sonography. A complete Glossary defines important terminology to help students master the vocabulary of the profession. Updated references reflect the latest research in the field. eBook available for separate purchase. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. A hands-on workbook (available separately for each series title) provides a variety of custom-designed exercises to help students master each objective and get the most out of their study time.
Call Number: RG 527.5 .U48 O37 2018ISBN: 9781496385512Publication Date: 2017-09-08
