Simple Search at CNC
Information
Looking for call numbers on the shelves
To help you browse the Library shelves, try the following areas:
| BF 1-839 |
Psychology
|
How call numbers work All print or paper copies of books in the library are assigned a call number, usually found on the book spine. The call number represents what the book is about and acts like the book's address on the library's shelves or stacks. Because books on the shelves are arranged in call number order, you will find books on similar subjects shelved near each other. At the College of New Caledonia Library, we use the Library of Congress (LC) classification system. LC call numbers are made up of letters and numbers and look something like this: QM 8923 W6 L36 2014 c.3 Read the call number from left to right. The first part of a call number, QM 8923, consists of a combination of one or two letters and a number that indicates a specific subject area. The next part, W6 L36, identifies a specific title within the range of books on that topic, 12014 is the date of publication, and c.3 indicates it is the third copy in the library. |
| HV 1551-3024 |
Disabilities
|
|
| QM |
Human Anatomy
|
|
| QP |
Human Physiology
|
|
| R |
Medicine
|
|
| R 123 |
Medical Terminology
|
|
| RK |
Dentistry
|
|
| RK 301-439 | Oral and Dental Medicine | |
| RK 520-528 |
Orthodontics
|
|
| RK 529-535 |
Oral Surgery
|
You can order books and articles not held at the College of New Caledonia Library through our free interlibrary loan service.
Articles usually arrive between 5-7 days. Visit our Request and Inter-Library Loan Page for more information.
Featured resources
Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by
Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Fourteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment.This cornerstone text, used in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, has been meticulously updated by previous co-authors, Linda Boyd, and Lisa Mallonee to even better meet the needs of today's students and faculty, while reflecting the current state of practice in dental hygiene. Maintaining the hallmark outline format, the Fourteenth Edition continues to offer the breadth and depth of coverage necessary not only for foundation courses bur for use throughout the entire dental hygiene curriculum.The workbook is now included in Navigate Premier Access! The engaging workbook reinforces important concepts of the main text and provides hands-on exercises that put those concepts into practice.
ISBN: 9781284255997Publication Date: 2023-06-19
If Your Mouth Could Talk by
USA TODAY AND WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER You've heard the advice: If you want to live longer, eat healthy foods and exercise daily. But there's a third piece of the puzzle, and it can add 10 to 15 years to your life. It's been right under your nose this whole time--literally. Your mouth is the gateway to your body and is the most critical organ for improving your health, from childhood onward. Everything in the human life cycle is related to the mouth: fertility, childbirth, sleeping soundly, success in school, finding a mate, getting a job, psychological well-being, avoiding chronic or systemic disease, and aging well. Your mouth is a window into the health of your body as a whole; from its microbiome to its structure, it impacts your physical and mental wellness in countless ways. Unfortunately, the mouth-body connection has been largely neglected by American medicine . . . until now. If Your Mouth Could Talk is the result of over 20 years of firsthand experience and research by renowned orthodontist and dentofacial orthopedist, Dr. Kami Hoss. In this groundbreaking work, Dr. Hoss connects the dots between oral health and whole-body health, offering a roadmap to a longer, more successful future for you and your family. This isn't a book about brushing and flossing--or any of the other standard advice you get from your dentist. Instead, you'll hear about how to protect your mouth's microbiome, the effect of diet, the relationship between oral structure and sleep problems, how to breathe better, and more. This is an in-depth guide for people who want to take control of their health to the fullest extent possible--who want to understand how their mouth contributes to their overall health and quality of life, and what they can do to better care for it. If your mouth could talk, it would tell you about the condition of your entire life. Time to start listening.
ISBN: 9781637740361Publication Date: 2022-04-05
Handbook for Dental Chair Side Assistants Part 2 by
No detailed description available for "Handbook for Dental Chair Side Assistants Part 2".
ISBN: 9789815136470Publication Date: 2023-10-18
Handbook for Dental Chair Side Assistants - Part 1 by
Handbook for Dental Chair Side Assistants is a timely and comprehensive resource designed to educate the dental chair side assistant and dental nurses about dentistry. This unique practical handbook covers the basic sciences emergencies and clinical aspects of all dental specialties. The theoretical knowledge and background about dental anatomy, dental microbiology, oral pathology, dental materials, dental radiology, dental procedures, common drugs, problems and dental instruments in dental practice is explained in simple and clear terms. The contents have been designed to give an optimum balance between clinical skills and theoretical foundation of the subject. The book is divided into 2 parts. Part 1 covers basic sciences and includes a guide to working in dental clinics. Part 2 includes a guide to medical emergencies, and information for different dental specialty settings. Key Features - Lucid yet simple explanations for learners - Covers basic and practical tips for dental assistants and nurses - Provides information for all dental specialties - Includes notes on advanced technology in dentistry - Illustrative and easy to retain information with colorful clinical pictures flowcharts and tabular data - A comprehensive summary for every chapter The book is useful reading material for undergraduate dental students and trainees.
ISBN: 9789815049701Publication Date: 2023-07-11
Active Learning Workbook for Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist Student Study Workbook by
Designed to accompany Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Thirteenth Edition, this engaging active-learning workbook reinforces important concepts of the main text and provides hands-on exercises that put those concepts into practice. Each chapter provides an array of learning tools and skill builders to help you master the assessment, planning, treatment, communication, and documentation skills needed to succeed as a dental hygienist.Key Features:Knowledge Exercises help you master key terms, concepts, and principles and to answer questions based on text information.Competency Exercises ask you to use critical thinking skills to apply your knowledge to clinical situations, analyze patient assessment data, or document patient care activities.Discovery Exercises build skills by asking you to find and analyze professional sources of current, evidence-based information.Questions Patients Ask exercises require you to use your evidence-based decision-making skills to address patient concerns.Everyday Ethics boxes include individual learning, cooperative learning, or discovery activities that challenge you to resolve the types of real ethical dilemmas they will face as practicing dental hygienists.Factors to Teach the Patient help you to develop conversations with patients using motivational interviewing techniques.For Your Portfolio suggestions ask you to reflect on your growth as a dental hygiene professional by developing a portfolio that highlights your individual talents, special skills, and competencies, resulting in an ideal tool for employment interviews or graduate education applications.
ISBN: 9781975106904Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Dental Caries by
Authoritative and comprehensive resource on the disease process and clinical management of dental caries. Dental Caries: The Disease and Its Clinical Management, 4th Edition maintains the same focus on high-level coverage of the disease etiology and process, clinical assessment and prognosis and wider public health issues connected with dental caries management, including an enhanced focus on caries control. Fully updated throughout, the chapters that discuss theory emphasize how the knowledge can be applied in both the clinic and in the public health domain to improve oral health. The new edition also includes up-to-date and validated diagnostic and management options for caries whilst ensuring that the tools provided allow practitioners to serve the needs of different socio-economic populations. All sections are complimented by high-quality color photographs, clear line drawings and references for further study. With contributions from international experts in research and clinical practice, Dental Caries includes information on: Acquisition and establishment of the oral microbiome, metabolism of the microbiome in caries, and the essential role of saliva for dental caries and erosion Initiation and progression of dental caries in dental hard tissues and the relationship between sugar, diets, and dental caries The caries control concept and consequences for minimally invasive management of caries Caries control in children, adults, and the elderly, including root surface caries and oral health care in the elderly Implication of caries control for the dental profession, including best practices for assessment of lesion activity, prognosis and risk for developing dental caries Dental Caries, Fourth Edition is an unrivaled guide to tooth decay, and a must-have resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in dental public health, paediatric and restorative dentistry as well as all practitioners looking to develop their clinical skills.
ISBN: 9781119679370Publication Date: 2024-10-14
The ADA Practical Guide to Effective Infection Prevention and Control, Fifth Edition by
This book outlines the importance of implementing comprehensive infection prevention and control practices in the dental office or other treatment setting. This revised edition features new chapters on Dental Water Quality and Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness and synthesizes the most current science-based recommendations for infection prevention and control in dental settings from the CDC and Federal agency rules and regulations, including OSHA, the FDA, and the EPA. The book is organized into five chapters: Chapter 1: Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control Chapter 2: Disinfection and Sterilization Chapter 3: Dental Water Quality Chapter 4: Infection Control During Clinical Procedures Chapter 5: Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness. Includes a self-assessment checklist of current infection control practices and review questions to reinforce important concepts. An accompanying CE quiz worth three credits is available at ADACEonline.org.
ISBN: 9781684471683Publication Date: 2022-06-30
Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Dentistry** Enhance your skills in patient assessment, oral diagnosis, and treatment planning! A full-color, all-in-one reference, Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th Edition helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Detailed coverage guides you through each phase of the treatment plan. New to this edition are chapters covering digital tools used in treatment planning and revised content in all chapters. The book renews a core section that describes how to plan and provide optimal oral health care for unique patient populations. Written by noted dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this must-have resource includes a fully searchable eBook version free with each print purchase. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, the treatment planning process, the five phases of the treatment plan, and care planning for all patients. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. In Clinical Practice boxes summarize information on specific clinical situations for quick and easy review. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address clinical situations where ethical decision making may be required. Review questions summarize and reinforce the important concepts in each chapter. 350 full-color illustrations depict important concepts. NEW! Updated content in all chapters. NEW! An eBook version is included with print purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, additional videos and all-new case-based practice quizzes for each chapter. NEW! Digital Tools chapter focuses on the use of digital tools in diagnosis and treatment planning.
ISBN: 9780323809757Publication Date: 2023-04-13
- Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care
Published in 2015 and available as an open textbook. Authored by G.R. Doyle and J.A. McCutcheon.
- Vital Sign Measurement Across the Lifespan
1st. Canadian. ed.
- Health Case Studies: Toward Closing the Healthcare Communication Gap
Presents eight cases studies with patient narrative. Authors, Glynda Rees, Rob Kruger and Jane Morrison.
- Anatomy & Physiology (Openstax College)
Published in 2013 and available as an open textbook.
Become a Dental Hygienist by
The work of a dental hygienist is much more than cleaning teeth and performing X-rays. Dental hygienists provide a crucial service to patients, treating oral diseases and educating about the importance of dental hygiene. Become a Dental Hygienist explores the need for dental hygienists, how to become one, and what to expect from the job.
ISBN: 9781678204167Publication Date: 2022-08-01
Oral Health and Aging by
This book provides a comprehensive review of the assessment and management of older people's oral health care needs. Discussing recent initiatives to emphasize oral health promotion and prevention, the book describes improvements in pharmacological and non-pharmacological approaches for special populations in geriatrics and illuminates the role of barriers to oral health care for older people. Divided into three sections, the book first explores aging and oral health, including age-related changes, epidemiology, nutrition, dysphagia, aspiration pneumonia, xerostomia and hyposalivation, management of periodontal disease and caries, systemic diseases that influence oral health, and considerations for chronic orofacial pain. The second section illuminates the ways in which frailty and other geriatric syndromes influence oral health care in older adults with a special focus on frailty, dementia, delirium and depression, and the delivery of oral health care to vulnerable geriatric populations in long-term care, home care, palliative care, and hospice. Lastly, the book addresses inequalities in the oral health of older minority populations, the disproportionate burden of oral disease and tooth loss, the contribution of these issues to further complications in comorbidities, the association of extended health literacy and periodontal disease, and the social and cultural conditions that might be altered or improved by healthcare programs and health policies. Oral Health and Aging is a useful book written by an international group of experts and designed to educate geriatricians, primary care physicians, nurses, dentists, dental hygienists, speech and language pathologists, dietitians, and health policy advocates.
ISBN: 9783030859923Publication Date: 2022-02-02
Cultures of Oral Health by
Oral health is integral to wellbeing and quality of life. This important edited volume brings together leading scholars to address global oral health and the multiple ways in which theory, practice and discourse have shaped it in the modern period. Structured around key themes, the book chapters draw on interdisciplinary perspectives in order to consider the role of the dental profession, the commercial sector, charities, the state, the media and patients in shaping oral health in the past and present. Collectively, the chapters consider the extent to which each of the studied groups and actors have sought to own and control the mouth. By adopting multiple perspectives, the book highlights the importance of cross-disciplinary work across the sciences, social sciences and humanities and provides a road map for a new interdisciplinary field focused on oral health and society. Drawing on perspectives from dentistry, sociology, history and the wider humanities, this book will interest students and researchers of dentistry, public health, sociology of health and illness, the medical humanities and history.
ISBN: 9780367498511Publication Date: 2022-07-22
ADA Dental Drug Handbook by
Dentists face many considerations when treating patients and prescribing medication. This ADA quick reference, created by a team of dentists, pharmacists, scientists, and experts in pharmacology, serves as a clinical educational resource to deliver concise and accurate information about prescribed medications used in dentistry and covers some common medications that your patients might be taking that have oral health implications. The third edition of the ADA Dental Drug Handbook: A Quick Reference has been revised to include the latest, most up-to-date information to assist in treating patients. This handbook presents information in an easy-to-follow format, making it a go-to drug reference for dental professionals.
ISBN: 9781684472529Publication Date: 2024-11-07
