Drugs and pharmacology
Mayo Clinic - Drugs & Supplements
Look up prescription and over-the-counter drug information
MedlinePlus - Drugs & Supplements
Look up prescription and over-the-counter drug information
USDA Food and Drug Administration
Information for health care professionals on drugs
- Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and SpecialitiesPublication Date: 2021
Nursing Drugs, Calculations, and Dosages
Developing Solid Oral Dosage Forms by
Developing Solid Oral Dosage Forms: Pharmaceutical Theory and Practice, Second Edition illustrates how to develop high-quality, safe, and effective pharmaceutical products by discussing the latest techniques, tools, and scientific advances in preformulation investigation, formulation, process design, characterization, scale-up, and production operations. This book covers the essential principles of physical pharmacy, biopharmaceutics, and industrial pharmacy, and their application to the research and development process of oral dosage forms. Chapters have been added, combined, deleted, and completely revised as necessary to produce a comprehensive, well-organized, valuable reference for industry professionals and academics engaged in all aspects of the development process. New and important topics include spray drying, amorphous solid dispersion using hot-melt extrusion, modeling and simulation, bioequivalence of complex modified-released dosage forms, biowaivers, and much more.
ISBN: 9780128024478Publication Date: 2016-11-28
Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms by
The study of pharmaceutical dosage forms has many connections to biological and medical sciences including physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, therapeutics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacognosy. Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms is a collection of terms and definitions prepared to assist healthcare practitioners and students as a companion or reference resource when reading notes and completing routine care. It can also provide reference material for hospital and medical staff, consultants, nursing instructors, and pharmaceutical science students. This first edition classifies and organizes the forms in an easily readable format, so readers will find it a quick and simple reference. Features Collects terms and definitions to assist healthcare practitioners and students as a companion or reference resource when reading notes and completing routine care Focuses on product dosage forms and includes supplementary information, providing readers, particularly pharmacy and medical students and professionals, insights into choices of dosage forms made during drug product development Offers information on the indications, contraindications, side effects, and more, for a given drug Classifies and organizes the forms in a readable format, providing a quick and simple reference
ISBN: 9781138065796Publication Date: 2020-11-12
Calculating Drug Dosages by
Master math concepts. Ensure patient safety. Conquer your fears and understand the most common math concepts used in nursing practice today. Color-coded, step-by-step guidance shows you how to accurately calculate drug dosages using all four methods. You'll begin with a basic math assessment and then explore in-depth coverage of complex topics, including intake and output, parenteral intake, NG tube feeding strength, and labeling IVs.
ISBN: 9781719641227Publication Date: 2020-10-13
Davis's Basic Math Review for Nursing and Health Professions by
Overcome your anxieties and build your confidence! Master the skills you need to calculate dosages accurately and to ensure patient safety in all areas of clinical practice...step by step, problem by problem! You'll progress from simple to complex calculations, building your proficiency and testing it along the way. It's perfect for course review now and a quick refresher whenever you need it. See what students are saying about the previous edition... THE MOST USEFUL BOOK FOR HESI MATH "HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. I SCORED 94% IN THE HESI MATH AFTER USING THIS BOOK. PREVIOUSLY FAILED AFTER USING OTHER BOOKS. I ADVISE ANYONE PREPARING FOR HESI TO NOT WASTE TIME LOOKING FOR OTHER BOOKS WHEN PREPARING FOR MATH."--L. Roche My Savior! Buy This Book! "...after taking the HESI exam twice and scoring poorly on the math section, I was about ready to give up on my lifelong goal and pursue something else. I bought Davis's Basic Math Review for Nurses, spent between one and three hours a day, four days a week for about a month working through it. The very next time I sat for the exam my math scores improved tremendously. I just learned that I was accepted into mytop pick nursing program. Thanks!"--J. Cole absolutely what I needed! "Ibought this two weeks before my [ATI] TEAS [Test of Essential Academic Skills] test. The instructions and examples are great and easy to follow. There are a lot of practice pages with tests at the end of each chapter to test your knowledge. I took the TEAS test and completely tested out of math! This coming from someone who didn't even remember how to do fractions! Everyone studying for their TEAS should buy this book!!"--Amanda G.
ISBN: 9780803656598Publication Date: 2016-12-22
ADA Dental Drug Handbook by
Dentists face many considerations when treating patients and prescribing medication. This ADA quick reference, created by a team of dentists, pharmacists, scientists, and experts in pharmacology, serves as a clinical educational resource to deliver concise and accurate information about prescribed medications used in dentistry and covers some common medications that your patients might be taking that have oral health implications. The third edition of the ADA Dental Drug Handbook: A Quick Reference has been revised to include the latest, most up-to-date information to assist in treating patients. This handbook presents information in an easy-to-follow format, making it a go-to drug reference for dental professionals.
ISBN: 9781684472529Publication Date: 2024-11-07
Drug Information Handbook for Dentistry by
The UpToDate Lexidrug Drug Information Handbook for Dentistry, 30th Edition, is the best-selling dental reference designed for any dental professional seeking clinically relevant information on medications, OTCs, and herbal products.
ISBN: 9781591953999Publication Date: 2024
Diseases & Conditions
Dental Caries by
Authoritative and comprehensive resource on the disease process and clinical management of dental caries. Dental Caries: The Disease and Its Clinical Management, 4th Edition maintains the same focus on high-level coverage of the disease etiology and process, clinical assessment and prognosis and wider public health issues connected with dental caries management, including an enhanced focus on caries control. Fully updated throughout, the chapters that discuss theory emphasize how the knowledge can be applied in both the clinic and in the public health domain to improve oral health. The new edition also includes up-to-date and validated diagnostic and management options for caries whilst ensuring that the tools provided allow practitioners to serve the needs of different socio-economic populations. All sections are complimented by high-quality color photographs, clear line drawings and references for further study. With contributions from international experts in research and clinical practice, Dental Caries includes information on: Acquisition and establishment of the oral microbiome, metabolism of the microbiome in caries, and the essential role of saliva for dental caries and erosion Initiation and progression of dental caries in dental hard tissues and the relationship between sugar, diets, and dental caries The caries control concept and consequences for minimally invasive management of caries Caries control in children, adults, and the elderly, including root surface caries and oral health care in the elderly Implication of caries control for the dental profession, including best practices for assessment of lesion activity, prognosis and risk for developing dental caries Dental Caries, Fourth Edition is an unrivaled guide to tooth decay, and a must-have resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in dental public health, paediatric and restorative dentistry as well as all practitioners looking to develop their clinical skills.
ISBN: 9781119679370Publication Date: 2024-10-14
Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Dentistry** Enhance your skills in patient assessment, oral diagnosis, and treatment planning! A full-color, all-in-one reference, Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th Edition helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Detailed coverage guides you through each phase of the treatment plan. New to this edition are chapters covering digital tools used in treatment planning and revised content in all chapters. The book renews a core section that describes how to plan and provide optimal oral health care for unique patient populations. Written by noted dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this must-have resource includes a fully searchable eBook version free with each print purchase. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, the treatment planning process, the five phases of the treatment plan, and care planning for all patients. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. In Clinical Practice boxes summarize information on specific clinical situations for quick and easy review. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address clinical situations where ethical decision making may be required. Review questions summarize and reinforce the important concepts in each chapter. 350 full-color illustrations depict important concepts. NEW! Updated content in all chapters. NEW! An eBook version is included with print purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, additional videos and all-new case-based practice quizzes for each chapter. NEW! Digital Tools chapter focuses on the use of digital tools in diagnosis and treatment planning.
ISBN: 9780323809757Publication Date: 2023-04-13
